Organisation Structure


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee below are responsible for the development and administration of Cuimhneamh an Chláir.  All members of the Executive come from all across County Clare and range from diverse professional backgrounds including teachers, archaeologists, folklorists, historians and cultural and community activists. The committee was brought together by a shared dedication to the preservation and promotion of Clare’s cultural heritage. We are an entirely voluntary and independent group.

    • Cllr. Pat Hayes (Kilanena) - Cathaoirleach
    • Cormac McCarthy (Liscannor)- Leas Cathaoirleach
    •  Jackie Elger (Kilkishen) - Project Coordinator
    • Margaret McNamara (Crusheen) - Treasurer
    •  Frances Madigan (Ennistymon)
    • Bridget Garry (Kildysart)
    • Carmel O'Dea (Ballynacally)
    • Martin Eoin Walsh (Ennis)

Cuairteoirí (Volunteer Collectors)

Our Cuairteoirí come from all across County Clare and were selected according to their dedication and commitment to the ethos and objectives of Cuimhneamh an Chláir. All Cuairteoirí have undergone training on the theory and practice of folklore and oral history recording and receive regular training on additional dimensions that assist in the collection of oral heritage. The following in addition to the Executive, are the Cuairteoirí of Cuimhneamh an Chláir.



Cuairteoirí receiving folklore training



      • Áine Lynch (Kilmihil)  
      • Angela Crotty (Kilkee)
      • Anne McNamara (Ennis) 
      • Anne O Brien (Ennis)
      • Brendan Daly (Lissycasey)
      • Carmel O’Dea (Ballynacally)
      • Carol Gleeson (Coore)
      • Cormac McCarthy (Liscannor)
      • Emma Pounch (Bell Harbour)
      • Frances Madigan (Ennistymon)
      • Fintan Mac Coitir (Ruan)
      • Geraldine Greene (Kilnamona)
      • Jackie Elger (Kilkishen)
      • Jason Murphy (Doonbeg)
      • Leonard McDonagh (Maurice’s Mills)
      • Linda Quinn (Ennis)
      • Mags O'Connor (O'Brien's Bridge)
      • Margaret McNamara (Crusheen)
      • Mari Cahill (Clarecastle)
      • Mary Heffernan (O'Brien's Bridge)
      • Mary McInerney (Cree)
      • Martin Eoin Walsh (Ennis)
      • Martina Hynan (Ennis)
      • Nikki Power (Querrin)
      • Patrcia Sheehan (Ballynacally)
      • Ruth Minogue (Tuamgraney)
      • Sarah Bennett (Tubber)
      • Seonaidh Ní Shíomáin (Ennis)
      • Shirley Ryan (Kilkishen)
      • Tara Manning (Ennis)
      • Ted Harrington (Feakle)

Dublin Cuairteoirí

The memories of elderly Clare natives living in Dublin are to be documented in ‘A part of what was Dublin’, a new initiative launched by Cuimhneamh an Chláir. We have trained and equipped three Dublin based Clare natives, who over the coming year will be seeking out and recording the memories of elderly Clare men and women who migrated to Dublin over the twenty century.  If you know someone who should be recorded by our Dublin Cuairteoirí email i This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it  or ring Cormac on 087 2787463. 

      • Brid McNamara (Native of Tuamgraney)
      • Tara Sparling (Native of Tuamgraney)
      • Lisa Vaughan (Native of Liscannor
      •  Tomás Madigan (Killmurry McMahon)


Whitegate Folklore Group

The Whitegate Folklore Group was set up in May 2012 to record aspects of Whitegate's landscape and cultural heritage and lore.  Interviews will take place during the summer.  Anyone interested in helping or nominating an interviewee should email i This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it  


  • Finnuola Collins
  • Cllr. Pat Burke
  • Tommy Keenan


Chicago Cuairteoir (March-April 2010)

The Chicago project was ran between March and April 2010 and involved a collaboration between Cuimhneamh an Chláir, NUI Galway and the Irish Immigrant Support Group in Chicago. 

  • Bridget O Hara (NUI Galway Social Work student)
  • Máire Hoban (NUI Galway Social Work student)



 We have been very fortunate to have excellent placements from TÚS and the University of Limerick 


Advisory Board

To ensure that Cuimhneamh an Chláir develops according to best practice and achieves maximum results, a special non-executive Advisory Board has been assembled. The latter contains representatives from the leading folklore and oral history, educational, cultural, academic, media and Age orientated institutions throughout Ireland, as well as relevant local stakeholders.

  • Paula Carroll, Folklorist and Broadcaster 

  • Dr. Hugh Maguire, Director, The Hunt Museum

  • Críostóir Mac Cárthaigh, UCD Folklore Department
  • Rene Franklin, Clare County Archivist
  • Congella McGuire, Clare Heritage Officer
  • Dr. Gearóid Ó hAllmhuráin, School of Canadian Irish Studies at Université Concordia Montreal

National Development PlanLEADERThe European Agricultural Fund for Rural DevelopmentClare Local Development CompanyDepartment of the Environment Community and Local Government